MMA’s No.1 pound-for-pound fighter, UFC Flyweight champion Demetrious Johnson, returns to action this weekend from Kansas City, Missouri. Facing Wilson Reis (28-6), this under-the-radar fight has potential fireworks written all over it.


As one of the most underrated champions in the history of the sport, it begs an answer to the question: are there too many weight classes and belts now within the UFC for fans to pay attention?

The last person to beat Johnson was former UFC bantamweight champion Dominick Cruz back in 2011. That was before the new flyweight division was introduced via a tournament that birthed the great two-part fight series between Johnson and Ian McCall.

After an initial draw and then a unanimous decision over McCall, Johnson defeated Joseph Benavidez, winning the inaugural UFC flyweight belt.


Since then, his game has been stronger than ever, defending a record nine times against tough-as-nails challengers. However, with his respect at an all time high, his buzz is so low that the fight is relegated to a UFC Fight Night platform in a low mid-tier market like Kansas City instead of Las Vegas.

Reis is the former bantamweight champion for defunct promotion EliteXC. Since joining the UFC in 2013, he has racked up a record of 6-2, with wins over notable opponents like Scott Jorgensen and Ivan Menjivar.


His current three-fight win streak earned him a shot at “Mighty Mouse”, and his submission-heavy game makes him dangerous on the ground.

Catch all the action live from the Sprint Center in Kansas City, MO on FOX this Saturday at 8pm EST /5pm PST. Don’t forget the preliminary card which features a great match-up between Bobby Green and Roy “Big Country” Nelson on FOX at 6pm EST / 3pm PST.



Tonight, catch Bellator 177 live from Budapest, Hungary on Spike TV as Bellator bantamweight champion Eduardo Dantas faces Leandro Higo in a non-title bout.  Yesterday, Higo missed weight, which made it a non-title affair. Catch all the action tonight at 9pm.